TOWN OF ASHBURNHAM – JOINT MEETING BOARD OF SELECTMEN/ADVISORY BOARD/CAPITAL PLANNING COMMITTEE TUESDAY – MAY 6, 2014 – 6:30 P.M. AUDITORIUM – OAKMONT REGIONAL HIGH SCHOOL

PRESENT – <u>Board of Selectmen</u>: Leo Janssens, Duncan Phyfe, and Nick Davis.

<u>Advisory Board</u>: Bill Johnson, Gail Dumont, Bruce Whitney, Jamie Piedrafite and Joe Oliveira. Belden Divito was absent.

Capital Planning Committee: Bill Johnson, Jamie Piedrafite, Duncan Phyfe, and Tanya Gaylord.

Also in attendance: Doug Briggs, Town Administrator, Deb Phillips, Town Counsel, Jeff Lawrence, Moderator, Linda Ramsdell, Town Clerk and Sylvia Turcotte, Assistant to the Town Administrator.

I. <u>Reorganization of Board of Selectmen</u>

Leo Janssens called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. and stated that the first order of business was the reorganization of the Board. *Nick Davis motioned to appoint Leo Janssens as Chair, and to keep his title as Clerk with Duncan Phyfe to continue as member. Duncan Phyfe seconded and the motion carried.*

II. Approval of minutes from joint meeting of October 29, 2013

It was noted that the minutes were approved by all three Boards and Committees. *Bill Johnson made the motion to approve the October 29, 2013 minutes and was seconded by Leo Janssens. Motion carried.*

IV. Discussion on abatement requests for Building Permits

Doug Briggs explained the process for building permits and he suggested that the Board, in general, stay by the State guidelines and not allow rebates. *Nick Davis made the motion to deny any rebate request as recommended by the Town Administrator and was seconded by Duncan Phyfe. Motion carried.*

III. Discussion – Annual Town Meeting Warrant Articles

Doug Briggs went over each article. At Article 13, which was the DPW vote, Mr. Briggs stated that, per the Moderator, they should present the motion and second it and then put on the presentation with a vote to follow. He also noted that after the presentation there should be no motion.

Mr. Briggs noted that Article 19, the VMS Use Committee request, would be a moot point as the building is down. On Article 20, the Advisory Board appointment to other committees, Deb Phillips stated that in our Charter it states that they are not allowed to serve on any other town office committee or board which is different from an ad hoc committee such as the VMS Building Use Committee. She added that if the committee or board had control of any money then that could be a conflict.

At 6:45 p.m. Nick Davis made the motion to recess until after the town meeting and was seconded by Duncan Phyfe. Motion carried.

At 9:05 p.m., with no more business to attend to, Nick Davis made the motion to adjourn the Joint Meeting and was seconded by Duncan Phyfe. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Sylvia Turcotte Assistant to the Town Administrator